Cooking

What’s on the menu!

Chicken and Shrimp Carbonara (my version)

A tried and true delicious meal.  Simple and quick, 45 min max. I have made this dish more then a dozen time over the past year. I never made it with scallops, usually I make it with chicken and shrimp, or chicken and sausage.   I made it again this past weekend for my son and his 2 friends.  Needless to say there were no leftovers.

b44cec6c7d2c9b7b755b9b5a09c36a9d

  1. Ingredients

    Servings 8 -10 Units US

    • 2 jars  classic 4 cheese alfredo
    • 1 can chicken stock
    • Chicken breast cut into chunks, shrimp, cut kielbasa sausage, scallops ( what ever meat you decide, or all)  1 tbsp butter
    • 1 teaspoon garlic, chopped
    • 5 strips of bacon cooked – save grease
    • 2 cups mozzarella cheese or (cheese of choice parmesan,roman0)
    • 12 teaspoon black pepper
    • 1  box pasta (fettucine, spaghetti, linguine, etc.)
    • 14 teaspoon salt
    • 2 tablespoons parsley, chopped
    • 1  red pepper, cut into strips
    • Directions

      1. Preheat oven to 350ºF.
      2. In large skillet.  Add half of  bacon grease (Save some for your sauce) and small amount of oil. Add red peppers, chopped parsley  and garlic, cook for 5 min.
      3. Add chicken, shrimp, sausage (or meat of choice)  to pan.  Add salt and pepper. Turning all  for 8-10 min. Put aside.
      4. In pot Add  1 1/2 jars of alfredo sauce, add 1 can of chicken stock, 1 tbsp. butter (margarine), rest of bacon grease, 1 cup of mozzarella cheese.  Simmer on low heat. Constantly stirring.
      5. Cook your pasta until it is el dente.  I don’t know how to measure pasta, I use a little more than half of package.
      6. In baking dish – Add cooked and drained pasta, add chicken mixture, crumble 2 strips of bacon over pasta and chicken mixture, add sauce.  Mix all together, while adding sauce.  Add the rest of sauce on top
      7. Sprinkle rest of bacon  (crumbled)
      8. Sprinkle rest of cheese (1 cup) on top of bacon
      9. Bake in preheated oven for  15 min- 20 min ( top will have some browning)
      10.  Remove from the oven, let cool for 5 min.
      11. Serve and enjoy.
About AurellaBlue

I am mother to 3 great kids and married to a wonderful man. I am blessed and humble in my daily life. I love to share my passion for art, fashion, gardening, DIY projects for my shop on Etsy, or for pleasure. I also love home decorating and cooking. Visit my shop at: http://www.etsy.com/shop/AurellaBlue Follow me - http://pinterest.com/aurellablue/ Follow me - https://www.facebook.com/#!/susan.bennett.982 Contact me - suebee15070@hotmail.com
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

